To school or not that is the timely question

I have been “lucky” as Miss Bee’s been off sick with a double ear infection.

I’ve not felt guiltily to keep her home as the directive is not to send sick kids to school.

But Monday I’ll need to decide.

My gut tells me to keep her home Monday.

I’m fortunate that I’m a trained teacher and she’s received 1:1 tutoring.

However my heart breaks that she’s alone, that she has no little friends or opportunity to learn with peers. This isn’t what her kindy year was meant to be.

For my Early childhood teaching friends, my heart breaks at the thought of socially distancing yourself from the most vulnerable, our children. Worse, trying to keep them 1.5m apart.

While theoretically not as physically vulnerable they are emotionally vulnerable.

Leave a comment